Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 18th, 2007

First of all, THANK YOU a thousand times to you lovely people who said nice things about my blanket! Oh my gosh, I was totally overwhelmed — I thought the blanket was charming, but I didn’t expect so many of you to find it charming too. Thank you. The word “verklempt” is coming to mind here.

As a result of finishing the blanket (and of reading all your nice words), I’m feeling much more like a real knitter these days. That’s also a result of these:

Decidedly Fall socks

As I mentioned before, I wanted to finish these socks for Socktoberfest. Half of that goal is now accomplished, and I’m kind of proud of myself. It’s amazing what gets knitted when you actually sit down and knit it.

Contrast
Some fall leaves to go with the fall socks

Yarn: Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks That Rock lightweight in Fred Flintstone (purchased at Stitches Midwest 2006)

On the hoof

Needles: Knit Picks dpns in 2.5mm / US 1.5 (don’t believe them when they say that the 2.5mm is just another size 1. It’s not.)

Turning

Pattern: Wendy’s Generic Toe-up with some ribbing all down the instep. And all over the leg. All over, really. Makes a really nice plaid-ish pattern. The bind-off is 2 rows of very loose knitting on the 2.5mm needles, then a standard bindoff in rib using a 3.25mm needle. No sock-top-tightness at all. Woohoo!

Perfect
Yes, that is a bit of a tattoo you see above the sock. I’ll show more of it later.

Time Spent: I started in February 2007, finished October 13th, 2007. I am a pathetically slow sock knitter.

Sky

What I Learned:
I learned that despite my best efforts to make it so, socks do not knit themselves;
I learned that knitting small yarn on small needles very quickly can put actual dents in my hands (not just from the needles — from the yarn, too!);
I learned that the short-row toe is the perfect toe for my toes (so far, I mean, it’s the only toe I’ve ever done, but it fits damn well);
and I learned that the short-row heel, though helped in this sock by the stretchy ribbing, is not the perfect heel for my heel. I’m going to have to bite the bullet and make heel-flap-gusset socks, which I’ve been avoiding because the short-row heel is so perfectly easy (it’s just like the toe! Nothing new to worry about!).

I feel pretty strongly about toe-up socks, what with the provisional CO/short-row toe being pretty much an exact copy of my foot. I can probably swing a toe-up heel-flap-gusset sock, right?

What with being a real knitter and all.

Read Full Post »