Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 12th, 2009

Project 365: 5-11

Snow is featuring heavily in this week’s pictures.

January 5th, 2009
2009-01-05
On Monday we went out for drinks and dinner and drinks with some friends. We started at a pub in Sycamore, went across the street to an amazing Italian restaurant (I had never been there), and finished in DeKalb at the bar where I spent most of my drinking time while in college. I hadn’t been there in a few years, so it felt a little odd (but surprisingly comfortable) to be back there, sitting at the same table my friends and I sat at so many times. This was one of many shots I took that night without the flash, and I liked this image of my friend Beth’s head at the right angle intersection of two lines, and the echo in the small square sticker on the wall. The sticker was advertising Mika. (Click on “Lollipop” only if you want nothing else in your head for the next 48 hours.)

January 6th, 2009
2009-01-06
This is a bit of a cop-out shot. Tuesday was kind of hectic; it snowed a lot and I was wearing these shoes (open at the tops, of course) on my walk to and from a restaurant on my lunch break and when I walked out to my car at the end of the day. FAIL. My feet were cold and wet and I was not really in the mood to compose a happy picture when I got home. So I photographed the source of my pain.

January 7th, 2009
2009-01-07
To continue with the snow-on-shoes theme… this is the lower part of my library’s “Harry Dumpty” statue. He sits on the wall at the entrance to the children’s department and he’s pretty goofy-looking (he is a bronze anthropomorphic egg, after all). I got this shot on the way into work on Wednesday morning, and I liked the triangles of snow piled up on his shoes.

January 8th, 2009
2009-01-08
Thursday morning was my annual exam, and I saved up this package to open as a reward for getting my bits prodded. Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks That Rock mediumweight in Jade. Three skeins. I’ve waited for two years to buy this (why? I don’t really know) to make the Tuscany Shawl from No Sheep For You.

January 9th, 2009
2009-01-09
As is my wont, I spilled water on my shirt (it’s like I’m five years old). It didn’t soak in right away and I thought the beads of water looked kind of cool on the blue shirt. I took several shots and this one turned out the best. My obsession with tiny things has not cleared up yet, no. This one is without flash (but with a bright lamp as backlight), using the macro feature.

January 10th, 2009
2009-01-10
Playing around with the Black&White feature. I had to work on Saturday and it snowed throughout the day. At about noon I stepped out of the children’s entrance and took this picture. There wasn’t a lot of setting up to do — the overcast sky provided perfect glare- and shadow-free light, and the tree branches looked amazing against it. I really like the contrast and will be goofing around with this feature lots more.

January 11th, 2009
2009-01-11
This is the tip of a branch of the giant pine tree in our front yard. As I mentioned yesterday, it’s so overloaded with snow that one of the branches is low enough that it’s blocking the front door. Not that we ever use it, but it looks a little bit inhospitable. Anyhow, this little end of the branch looked cute as hell, and might make it to holiday card status later this year. Macro feature again (because yes, I am enthralled with the tiny).

Read Full Post »