Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 19th, 2009

Project 365: 12-18

This week I learned how small my life is at the moment. My pictures tended to be about things I see every day and felt repetitious: home, work, repeat. The weather necessarily keeps my outdoor exploration to a minimum, but I’m going to try to take more pictures outside my usual range.

January 12, 2009
2009-01-12
This is a cube-ish weight, made of lead shot encased in acrylic. I use it at work to flatten out CD security film. (Good god my job is so boring.) I thought it looked kind of weird and wanted to include more pictures from work.

January 13, 2009
2009-01-13
The tea cozy is being made in entrelac! I’ve never tried this technique before this project, and I’m kind of in love with it. It was totally intimidating at first, but now it’s easy as pie. This is for my sister, whose birthday is on Tuesday (tomorrow), and I hope I can get it done by then (I’m on the second half already).

January 14, 2009
2009-01-14
5;00pm on a Wednesday. I was leaving work via the west entrance and the sky + trees looked really neat. Silhouettes catch my eye a lot, and I’m going with it.

January 15, 2009
2009-01-15
Ugh. In one of the parking lots available to me when I go to work is this mountain of snow. One day I’ll take a proper picture of the whole thing, if I ever get a nice camera with a wide angle lens. This thing sits on the side of the lot I usually park in, and I’ve taken to parking at the foot of Mount Soulkill. Which is what I call it whenever I see it growing.

January 16, 2009
2009-01-16
On Friday the 16th Femiknitter was supposed to come out and visit me, but that happened to be the coldest day ever in the history of everything. There were so many accidents on the highways between her folks’ place, added to the weather service’s warning that “if you venture outside be sure to cover all exposed skin” that we decided neither of us should risk driving. And then we made plans for more visits, which made us feel better. And then I took pictures of Miyagi for most of the morning.

January 17, 2009
2009-01-17
This is another kind of copout picture. We were busy all day having a nothing kind of day (except massages, book shopping, and dinner which was awesome) that I didn’t think of taking a picture until the drive home (I wasn’t driving). North/west on Peace Road, before it crosses DeKalb Avenue. I like pretty blurry lights.

January 18, 2009
2009-01-18
The DeKalb County courthouse, all lit up for the holidays. My SnB group meets across the street from the courthouse at a really great pub, and I was still looking for the day’s shot when I glanced out the window at the giant green-and-red courthouse. Duh. It’s not the greatest picture but it does kind of capture the whole day, which was focused on the SnB meetup in such a pretty place.

Read Full Post »