Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 26th, 2009

Twenty-nine

It’s my birthday again, and it’s the last age I’ll ever be that will have a 2 at the beginning of it. Unless I live to be 200, and that seems unlikely.

I finished knitting my sister’s tea cozy last Friday (and dammit, the pictures are on my laptop at home; I’m at work) (pictures tomorrow), and while I feel like I should start one of the other Christmas Gifts That Weren’t Finished (or Started) In Time, I’m really much more inclined to knit for myself, at least for one project. I need to take advantage of all this knitting excitement and energy and put it into something for me. Aside from the t-shirt rag rug I made back in September/October, I haven’t made anything for myself since February.

Because I have a billion knit projects in my Rav Favorites list, and a bunch in my Queue, I’m going to need some help deciding on a project, and I’m hosting a contest to entice you to tell me what you think! Should I make…

… the Emerald Cardigan (Ravelry link) (Knitty link) which will make a perfect over-everything cardigan — something I don’t already have in my wardrobe

… a Hooded Scarf (based on this Ravelry link, but in burgundy & cream alpaca, with a more complicated cable), perfect for keeping my hair nice when I have to go out in the wintery cold. Yarn was purchased on my honeymoon and I’ve been trying to find the best pattern for it

… the Tuscany Shawl from No Sheep For You (Ravelry link) which I’ve been lusting after for probably two years, and which has haunted my dreams

… or the Back-to-School Vest from Fitted Knits (Ravelry link), which would be a cute addition to the work wardrobe?

(I’d like to take this moment to acknowledge that yes, the last time I asked your help in choosing a project, or a yarn for the project, I failed to keep up my end of the bargain by actually completing the project. Let it be known that I won’t let that happen again. If you care.)

Vote on which one you’d like to see me start (and finish!), using the little poll thinger below (I hope… I’ve never used one of these things before), and leave me a comment telling me what you voted for and why, or just hello. I’ll be tracking the votes on the poll thinger, but I’ll use the comments to choose a number for the winner of this amazing prize:

Louet Gems Fern

Two skeins of Louet Gems fingering weight superwash sock yarn in Fern from my stash!

The contest runs from now through Thursday night, the 29th, at midnight Central time. Get your votes and comments (only comments will be entered to win the prize) in by midnight (Central) on Thursday! I’ll choose a winner (or rather, the random number generator will choose a winner for me) and post the results on Friday. Thanks for your help!

Last week’s pictures will be posted later today (probably tonight). I’m having a hard time choosing one from Saturday’s birthday bar crawl. They’re not as hilarious as some pictures from college, but they’re pretty sweet.

Read Full Post »