Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 27th, 2009

Project 365: 19-25

Pictures are up late, but I’m giving myself a pass because yesterday was my birthday. (Don’t miss the birthday contest, going on till Thursday night!)

This week’s pictures were taken in much more out-and-about situations than I had been in so far this year, which feels pretty good. Too much home-work-home and you start to go a little nuts.

January 19, 2009
2009-01-19
Icicles on the outside of an ivy-covered building (The Hillside in DeKalb on 2nd Street). Seeing ice encase something always fascinates me, and this made me think of amber surrounding and preserving leaves.

January 20, 2009
2009-01-20
On Tuesday the public library got cable TV for the day to offer free access to the coverage of the inauguration. We were all so excited, and thanks to my generous boss, I was able to watch all of the inaugural events live with 75 other people. It was the most moving public event I’ve seen ever. People in the library cheered when he was announced, applauded when Biden took his oath, stood to witness Barack Obama, our former senator, take the Presidential oath, cried, whooped, and carried on. Amazing. Near the end of the service I took a picture of Heather and her boys standing to hear the national anthem sung. This day was outstanding.

January 21, 2009
2009-01-21
On Wednesday we went to The House restaurant to see the Where’s the Band Tour. NinjaHusband was really into the music, and I was really into hanging out with friends and enjoying the people-watching.

January 22, 2009
2009-01-22
My obsession with trees continues. This is the Christian Scientist church on Third Street in DeKalb. I love the classic lines of this church, and the steeple is a nice change from the surrounding buildings. Come to think of it, this section of DeKalb is full of churches. Methodist, Lutheran and Catholic on the next block. Weird. Anyway, this shot seemed like the prettiest and most outward-looking of the pictures I took that day.

January 23, 2009
2009-01-23
Miyagi, in black-and-white. Which is funny, because she’s grey and white. One of my needles dropped as I was working on the entrelac tea cozy and she went after it. She’s so funny — definitely not a kitten but she still goes after things with a bouncy-pouncy verve sometimes. I like this picture because she’s a little blurry. On the move.

January 24, 2009
2009-01-24
On Saturday my sisters came to town and we went out with a bunch of friends for a birthday bar crawl. It was awesome. I wore boots that looked great and killed my feet and a new top and great jewelry, and I had so much fun. We went to 4 or 5 bars that night (yes, things got a little blurry) and this is me and my friend C. in one of them. Don’t know which one. There are tons of really fun pictures, and lots of blurry pictures, from that night that I haven’t yet put on my Flickr. Hopefully I’ll get those up this week.

January 25, 2009
2009-01-25
These are books that I am reading or am going to start reading very soon. Mom recommended The Art of War for Women, so of course I had to pick up the original Art of War as well. Laura got Tales of Beedle the Bard for Christmas and it looked interesting, so I picked that up and have already finished it (it’s very fast and very entertaining). I’m listening to Terry Pratchett’s Making Money at work and while I knit. The Sayers books are a given — it seems I’m always reading a mystery story, preferably English and set in the 20s or 30s. The Road was recommended by a friend, as was In the Night Garden. Both, I hear, have beautiful language and I’m looking forward to picking them up. The Great Wall has been on my nightstand for a while, but keeps getting usurped by the mystery du jour.

Read Full Post »